Sebastian Vettel's 2010 F1 world championship success may have captured the imagination of race fans, and inked the German's name into the record books as the youngest title winner, but it failed to win over the judges at the annual Laureus World Sports Awards.

Both Vettel and Red Bull Racing were nominated for awards following their double title triumph, but neither were able to follow in the footsteps of predecessors Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Brawn GP, who were honoured by the all-star Laureus panel following their championship campaigns. Admittedly, neither Briton achieved the top Sportsman of the Year honour, but both had their achievements marked by the Breakthrough award. Brawn GP secured the Team of the Year Award following Button's title success in 2009.

Vettel was nominated for Sportsman of the Year, but found himself up against tennis powerhouse Rafael Nadal, who ensured a double success for Spain as he joined the World Cup-winning national football team - a rival of Red Bull's - on the list of those recognised on a glittering night in Abu Dhabi.

It is the second time the Vettel has been overlooked by the Laureus panel, having been nominated for the Breakthrough award following his Italian GP victory with Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2008. On that occasion, he was beaten the honour by double Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer Rebecca Adlington.